CHIEF DELEGATE'S REPORT 2009 IIW ANNUAL ASSEMBLY SINGAPORE – JULY 12-17, 2009

Introduction

This year's IIW Annual Assembly and Conference was held in Singapore. There were 480 delegates and experts representing 49 countries, along with 100 accompanying persons. Canada's compliment was at 8 (plus accompanying persons) and their respective commission focus is shown in the chart below.

Canadian Delegation

(D = Delegate; E = Expert)

Doug Luciani	General Assembly; XIV (E); SC STAND; WG – Regional Activities
Ed Whalen	XIV (E); XV (E)
Eric Sjerve	V (D) and XI (D)
Craig Martin	General Assembly; XIV (D); IAB Board Groups A and B
Jeff Packer	XV (D)
Jacob Kleiman	XIII (D)
Phil Bates	XVI (D)
Claude Choquet	XIV (E)
Mahesh Chaturvedi	XVII (D)

Opening Ceremony

The Chair of the Singapore Organizing Committee, Mr. Chee-Pheng Ang welcomed everyone to the Assembly, followed by the Mayor of Central Singapore District and Member of Parliament for Bishan Toa Payoh GRC, Mr. Zainuddin Nordin. The 62nd Annual Assembly was then officially declared open by IIW President, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Dilthey.

Following the traditional ceremonial entertainment, the 2009 IIW Awards Ceremony took place, co-hosted by Dr.Eng. Cécile Mayer (incoming IIW Chief Executive Officer) and the Master of Ceremonies, Mr. Bernard Solosa. Winners of the respective 2009 Awards were:

Henry Granjon Prize

Category A Dr.Ing. Sergio T. Amancio Filho (Germany)

Category B
Category C
Dr.Ing. Imke Weich (Germany)
Prof. Bruno de Meester (Belgium)
Edstrom Medal
Thomas Medal
Dr. David Widgery (United Kingdom)
Evgeny Paton Prize
Prof. Shang Yang Lin (P.R. of China)
Pr. John C. Lippold (United States)

Heinz Sossenheimer Software

Innovation Award Dr. Yu-Ping Yang (United States)

It is noted here that there was no Canadian entry for Prizes this year.

General Assembly

The General Assembly was attended by Messrs. Martin, and myself and took place on Sunday afternoon at the Grand Ballroom of the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel, during which all business affairs of the IIW were conducted as follows:

1. Welcome and Apologies

IIW President, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Dilthey welcomed all participants to the 62nd 61_{st} Annual Assembly in Singapore and thanked Mr. Chee-Pheng Ang for the excellent organization of this Annual Assembly. He introduced the members of the IIW Board of Directors.

2. IIW Membership - Approval of New Members

6.1 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dilthey reported that the Board of Directors recommended that THE KINGDOM OF MOROCCO, (represented by "Association Marocaine du Soudage et Appareils à Pression (AMS-AP)), be accepted as thr 54th Member Country of the IIW. This new member was approved unanimously by the General Assembly.

3. Discharge of the Directors

In accordance with Article 13 of the Constitution, the General Assembly gave full discharge of the Directors for the conduct of the activity of the Association since the General Assembly meeting of July 6, 2008.

4. Approval of the 2010 Subscription Fees

The principle for the increase in the 2010 subscription fees was approved by the General Assembly. To lower the impact of high variations due to the economic context, a new method of calculation was introduced whereby the steel consumption is averaged over a three year period; consequently, the 2010 fees for Canada are slightly reduced.

5. Renewal of the Board of Directors

The terms of the office of:

Prof. Luisa Coutinho (Portugal) Prof. Dr. Horst Cerjak (Austria) Prof. Dr. Takashi (Japan)

had expired, and the Board of Directors elected the following individuals as new Directors:

Vice President: Dr. Baldev Raj (India) Director: Prof. Dorin Dehelean (Romania) Director: Mr. Daniel Almeida (Brazil)

Director: Prof. Dr. Kazutoshi Nishimoto (Japan)

6. Appointments by the Board of Directors

Dr. Eng. Cécile Mayer (France) was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the IIW Secretariat taking over from Mr. André Charbonnier (France).

Mag. Sylke Kanits (Aiustrai) was appijnted Chair of Working Group – Communications & Marketing.

Prof. Madeleine du Toit (South Africa), Dr. Henri-Paul Lieurade (France) and Prof.Dr. Ing. Suck-Joo Na (Republic of Korea) were appointed to the Technical Management Board.

7. IIW Working Units

This year, 161 decisions were adopted by the various Working Units of the IIW Ninety-nine (99) documents were recommended for publication in the IIW Journal, *Welding in the World*, and two (2) documents were recommended for publication as IIW books.

8. Election of Chairs of IIW Working Units

Elections were held in the following Working Units:

and Filler Metals

Mr. Vincent van der Mee (The Netherlands) - re-elected for third term

Commission VIII Health, Safety & Environment

Dr. Luca Costa (Italy) – re-elected for third term

Commission X Structural Performances fo Welded Joints – Fracture Avoidance

Dr. Mustafa Koçak (Turkey) – re-elected for third term

Commission XIII Fatigue of Welded Components & Structures

Prof. Gary B. Marquis (Finland) – re-elected for second term

Commission XIV Education and Training

Mr. Victor Matthews (USA) – elected for first term

Commission XV Design, analysis and Fabrication of Welded Structures

Mr. Robert Shaw (USA) – re-elected for second term

Commission XVI Polymer Joining and Adhesive Technology

Prof.Dr.Ing. Volker Schöppner (Germany) – elected first term

SC-AIR Permanent Joints in new Materials and Coatings for Aircraft Engineering

Mr. Ian Harris (USA) – elected first term

SG-RES Study Group – Welding Research, Strategy and Collaboration

Prof. Luisa Countinho (Portugal) – re-elected third term

9. Future IIW Annual Assemblies

- 2010 Ukraine (Kiev), 11-18 July
- 2011 Indian (Chennai), 17-22 July
- 2012 U.S.A. (Denver, Colorado)
- 2013 Germany (Essen), 12-17 September
- 2014 Republic of Korea (Jeju Island), 13-18 July
- 2015 Turkey (Instanbul), July (date to be finalized)

10. Any Other Business

There was no other business to be discussed.

11. Attendance Recognition Certificates

Attendance Recognition Certificates and commemorative lapel pins were presented during the various meetings of the 2009 Assembly to honour those who have contributed significantly to the IIW by having attended 10 (10 certificates), 20 (2 certificates) or 30 (2 certificates) Annual Assemblies.

12. Date and Place of the Next Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled for Sunday, July 11, 2010 at 1400H in Kiev.

International Conference

The International Conference "Advances in Welding and Allied Technologies" was held July 16-17 at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel. It was opened by the Portevin Lecture, "Development of Gas-Shielded Arc Processes in Automatic Welding", delivered by Dr.-Eng. Masao Ushio, Professor Emeritus of Osaka University, Japan. A total of 93 papers were presented during the Conference during 17 sessions, with 41 posters on exhibition.

Concluding Remarks

This Annual Assembly and Conference was extremely well attended by Canadians and well organized by our Singapore colleagues. Overall, a worthwhile event that was enjoyed by all.

Douglas R. Luciani, MBA, P.Eng. Chief Delegate September 28th, 2009