CHIEF DELEGATES REPORT 2007 IIW ANNUAL ASSEMBLY DUBROVNIK-CAVTAT, CROATIA – JULY 1-8, 2007

Introduction

This year's IIW Annual Assembly and Conference was held in beautiful Dubrovnik-Cavtat, Croatia. Canada's compliment was at 10 (plus accompanying persons) and their respective commission focus is shown in the chart below.

Canadian Delegation

(D = Delegate; E = Expert)

Alice Lau	II (D); XII (D)
Doug Luciani	General Assembly; XV (D); XVI (D); VIII (D); XIV (E); SC Stand;
	WG - Regional Activities
Ed Whalen	General Assembly; XIV (D); IAB Board Groups A and B
Eric Sjerve	V (D); XI (E)
Jeff Packer	IIW Board; General Assembly; XV (E)
Jacob Kleiman	X (E); XIII (E); XV (E)
Yuri Kudryavtsev	X (E); XIII (D); XV (E)
John Bowker	X (D); XI (E); IX (D)
Jim Gianetto	XI (E); IX (D); General Assembly
Phil Bates	XVI

General Assembly

The General Assembly was attended by Mr. Ed Whalen and myself and took place on Sunday afternoon at the Hotel Croatia during which the normal business affairs of the IIW were conducted as follows:

The IIW President, Mr. Chris Smallbone, welcomed all participants to the 60th Annual Assembly in Dubrovnik-Cavtat and thanked Prof. Slobodan Kralj from Croatia for the excellent organisation of this Annual Assembly. He introduced the members of the IIW Board of Directors. The President mentioned the passing of Professor Pavel Stular and paid tribute to his life's work. He asked everyone to stand for a minute of silence.

The Board of Directors recommended that Tunisia, Greece, and Korea be accepted as new members of IIW. All three new members were approved unanimously by the General Assembly. The President reported that the Board of Directors recommended that Indonesia be accepted as a reinstated member of IIW subject to some specific criteria. This reinstatement was approved unanimously by the General Assembly. Membership certificates were presented to representatives of each country.

The Board of Directors recommended that Chile, Egypt, and Mexico be expelled if payment is not received by the end of September 2007. This proposal was approved unanimously by the General Assembly.

The Board of Directors recommended the acceptance of a change in the responsible member society in Austria. This proposal was approved unanimously by the General Assembly.

The President reported on the activities carried out since the last General Assembly by the Board of Directors, the IIW Secretariat. and various working units. The outcomes had been very successful and were well received by the General Assembly. The Annual Report was approved unanimously by the General Assembly.

The Treasurer of the IIW, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Detlef von Hofe, gave a short financial report. His report was unanimously accepted.

The President reported that Mr. Daniel Beaufils is retiring at the end of this year and his successor is Mr. André Charbonnier. Mr. André Charbonnier was introduced to the General Assembly.

The principle for the increase in the 2008 subscription fees was unanimously approved by the General Assembly. The final document detailing the calculated membership fees, including the three new IIW Member countries, will be sent to IIW Member Countries.

The budget was approved unanimously by the General Assembly for the next fiscal year.

The terms of the office for the following Directors were due to expire at the end of the 2007 Annual Assembly:

- Dr. Damian Kotecki (Vice President United States)
- Prof. Bruno de Meester (Director Belgium)
- Prof. Jeffrey Packer (Director Canada)

The Board of Directors proposed the following new Directors:

- Prof. Qiang Chen (Vice President China)
- Ray Shook (Director United States)
- Mr. Ang Chee Pheng (Director Singapore)

The proposed new Directors were approved unanimously by the General Assembly, and they will be informed by the IIW Secretariat of their appointments.

The President expressed his and the members' thanks to those leaving the Board by presenting each of them with a plaque as a token of appreciation for their efforts. He gave a warm welcome to those entering the Board.

On behalf of the CCIIW, I would also like to express Canada's appreciation to Professor Packer for his exemplary service to the IIW. He represented Canada exceptional well.

Professor Ulrich Dilthey (Germany) was elected as President Elect by the General Assembly. The President stated that there had been four excellent candidates which illustrated the high standing of IIW.

Professor de Meester announced the proposal for new members of the Technical Management Board:

- Prof. Dr.-Ing. Americo Scotti, from Brazil
- Dr. Arun Bhaduri, from India.

This proposal was approved unanimously by the General Assembly.

The President gave an overview of the work initiated on the IIW Business Plan for 2007 to 2012 and the strategy for implementation. The report on the approach and the progress was well received by members. He thanked all the people including the IIW Secretariat, for the excellent team effort in this regard.

The Board of Directors recommended approval for the 2012 Annual Assembly to be held in United States. This proposal was approved unanimously by the General Assembly.

The Board of Directors recommended that the Select Committee on Standardization report to the Board of Directors as a Working Group. This proposal was approved unanimously by the General Assembly.

The next meeting is scheduled for Sunday, July 6th, 2008 in Graz (Austria).

Opening Ceremony

The Opening Ceremony took place in the Hotel Croatia shortly after the General Assembly. The welcome address was given by the head of the Organizing Committee, Prof.Dr.sc Slobodan Kralj, who also read a letter and welcome from Ms Marina Matulovic-Dropulic from the Ministry of Environmental Protection, Physical Planning and Construction. This was followed by an address by Vice-Rector of the University of Dubrovnik and host of the events, Prof. Dr. Vjekoslav Damic. The Annual Assembly was then declared open by the President, Mr. Smallbone. The IIW Prizes and Awards followed with this year's recipients being:

Henry Granjon Prize

Category A Mr. Marek Weglowski (Poland)

Category B Mr. Fernando Martinez Diez (United States)

Category C Dr. Yoshiki Mikami (Japan)

Arthur Smith Award Dr. Damien Kotecki (United States)
Edstrom Medal Prof. Dr.-ing Detlef von Hofe (Germany)
Thomas Medal Dr. David Shackleton (United Kingdom)

Arata Award Prof. Dr. Horst Cerjak (Austria)
Portevin Lecture Prof. Vatroslav Grubisic (Croatia)

It is noted here that there were no Canadian entry for Prizes this year.

The Opening Ceremony was completed with an excellent traditional Croatian music and folk dancing featuring the Asamble Lindo from Dubrovnik and a welcome reception on the Terrace of the Hotel Croatia.

International Conference

The international Conference, "Welding and Materials - Technical, Economic and Ecological Aspects", took place on Thursday and Friday and was well attended, with 90 papers presented.

Concluding Remarks

This Annual Assembly and Conference was well organized and attended although there were some challenges with the high number of last minute registrants such as bussing to and from hotels and the meeting location and the lack of air conditioning in some of the meeting rooms. However, the beauty of this part of the world helped soften those issues. Overall, an enjoyable event.

Douglas R. Luciani, MBA, P.Eng. Chief Delegate October 14th, 2007